Language is my Foe – DP Express Yourself

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Express Yourself.”

I am bilingual. That is why language is my foe. Until very recently, language was my dear and cherished friend. Not anymore… Now it is a wicked gnome, a mischievous house elf, who sticks his head out in the most unexpected, mundane and pleasant of conversations.

   For instance, talking in Russian to a friend who’s just had a child, I expressed my fear of becoming a parent for the obvious reason of commitment. My gnome could not find a better moment to interfere! “Commitment” was his trick. No mater how hard I tried, I could not come up with a decent RUSSIAN word to express myself.

   Another instance was even worse. As I was describing my plans to improve our coat closet to my grandmother back in Odessa, again in Russian, my foe almost made my cut the conversation short, having imposed a complete lack of descriptive language skills on me! Here is where technology came to the rescue. I turned on the camera, finger pointed to the closet and what I had intended to do with it. And though the purpose of our communication was achieved, it left me upset and disappointed. Will it get even worse? Will I be gradually loosing the ability to express myself as coherently as I should and could the longer I am away from the Russian language?  And what about Ukrainian? Should I even attempt it in my circumstances?… How sad…

2 thoughts on “Language is my Foe – DP Express Yourself

  1. I experience this loss of words, too. Being a non-native English speaker, I find myself using words the wrong way, or not having the exact words that will convey the idea which I learned in my native tongue.

Leave a Reply

