Wind Horse in the Mountains

In Feng-Shui, the concept of personal inner energy and strength is referred to as personal Wind Horse. In any given year, a strong Wind Horse empowers one to notice, grab and benefit from the opportunities the year has to offer. However, if one’s Wind Horse is weak, there is no way to make the best of the year, no matter how many opportunities come along.  It’s quite simple, actually, (that is, provided that you believe in energy) – when you are weak, you can’t perform to the best of your abilities.

91Q7FmvLGIL._SL1500_

Tibetan prayer flags are widely used to strengthen one’s Wind Horse. It’s best to hang a string of these colorful flags with mantras and protective symbols somewhere high in your home or maybe even above the roof.

This year I’ve decided to go further, literally 🙂 I believe that adding a personal touch, like coloring the flags by hand, adds my personal energy to an impersonal store-bought flag. So, I got my string of Wind Horse prayer flags and made many-many black and white copies. Then I took my highlighters and colored the flags in yellow, green, red, blue, leaving some just plain white, according to the colors of 5 elements: Fire, Earth, Water, Metal and Wood. After coloring I made strings of flags, 10 flags on a string, 2 of each color.

On the first Saturday after the New Year, we went to the mountains to hang our Wind Horse flags as high up as we could get 🙂

20121230_151851

I think I have already mentioned Mt. Charleston, the highest peak in Spring Mountains of Nevada. It’s a real mountain chain, tiny compared to some others, but significant on our Las Vegas plateau, with the elevation of 11,916 ft (3,632 m). There is even a Ski Resort there 😉 This grand mountain, with four natural seasons, is only some 30 minutes drive from Las Vegas downtown and it blows my mind every single time I go there. This is where we go to get our portion of snow and the feel of the Real New Year!  20121230_14350120121230_132025

20121230_15141720121230_15184220131111_132949    20121230_140113

All that was last year, December 30, 2014. And you can tell I missed the snow!

This year, however, the purpose of our annual mountain walk was different from simply enjoying the snow. We went to empower our personal inner Wind Horses for the upcoming Year of the Sheep/Goat 🙂

This is how it looked:

20150103_14490220150103_14131320150103_141329 20150103_144344

Love was grateful I had only 4 strings of those flags with me, as should I have had more, I would have climbed more trees to hang them on! This time only 3 trees got “Feng-Shui’ed” by my enthusiasm 🙂

  20150103_135224

20150103_145222I spotted these darling tiny pine cones by their smell – wonderful, fresh nutty smell of pine thus! They were all sticky and so delicious that I brought a handful home, a pity attempt to bring in real winter to the house.

Hope you had a good Real New Year yourselves!

8 thoughts on “Wind Horse in the Mountains

  1. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Dodging golf balls! | restlessjo

  2. Stunning post!~ Such a coincidence I have recently came across a poem which mentioned the wind horse… I didn’t know much about it (as a symbol) so I looked for the meaning online and found this: “The wind horse is an allegory for the human soul in the shamanistic tradition of East Asia and Central Asia. In Tibetan Buddhism, it was included as the pivotal element in the center of the four animals symbolizing the cardinal directions and a symbol of the idea of well-being or good fortune”. Thanks for mentioning it then… Your post is beautiful and I truly liked the photographs!. Best wishes, Aquileana 😀

Leave a Reply

