When You Thought It Was All Over

How does it feel to be back to work on January 2nd? Especially when it falls on a Friday, as it did this year. I feel like the Holiday Spirit is betraying me, teasing mercilessly. That’s why I stayed home this year 🙂

But there is one (very large) place where one does not have to bother with work for 2 straight weeks during the Christmas/New Year time and being paid for it! This Wonderland is former USSR. Seriously. Consider:

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS IN THE USA

US

Pathetic.  Don’t you feel sorry for yourself? I do. I mean I feel sorry for myself! Now watch this:

CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR HOLIDAYS IN THE FORMER SOVIET COUNTRIES

REAL HOLIDAY

 The two weeks in green are official national holidays. Meaning, two straight weeks of paid days off! How do you like THAT?! I know I do 🙂

In any case, I’d still want to leave a smile on your face. so here is a gallery of (mostly apt) illustrations on how the Orthodox celebrate their Christmas, presented by The Telegraph (click on the image to see more):

Untitled

4 thoughts on “When You Thought It Was All Over

Leave a Reply

