Jo’s Monday Walk – Big Bear Lake, California

If you doubt that biking and kayaking count as “walk”, try it yourself and then talk! Big Bear Lake is a snow-fed lake in California, surrounded by mountains with pine forests. It’s a hot touristic place for winter sports, but it also offers any kind of outside activity you can think of during the summer season. Biking, hiking and camping in mountains or kayaking, jet-skiing and boating on the lake. Pick your poison, sir!

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

This is how we started early after sunrise:

Home the we Built

Home the we Built

Sky Chair took us with our bikes to the top of the mountain where we began our 9.5 miles biking hike. That was an experience! The road is well-maintained, with a lot of twists and turns,  strenuous uphills and  reviving downhills through pine forest. I could not get enough of breathing that air – it felt like I’m on another planet, a universe parallel to the dusty desert I live in.

Home that we Built

Home that we Built 

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

This was the route we covered:

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Here comes the fun part. I must confess that we did not plan on such a long and challenging bike ride. My destination was a peak with a view couple miles from where we started. But in the midst of breathing, turning pedals and enjoying the ride immensely, we missed the turn and just went on and on. After couple of hours enjoyment gradually turned into torture, and I just had to walk pushing (read: dragging) my bike along for quite a while. My poor Love, having incomparably more stamina than  myself, had to stop and wait for me many times, cheering me up, proving over again to be my Perfect Gentleman!

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

 

We finally came to a kind of a rest place with a map and “You are here” arrow in it. This was where we realized how far in the woods we are and how far away the civilization was 🙂 As you can see, the city of Big Bear is very far from where we are.

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

Here comes the miracle in the shape of a produce of American automobile industry – God save Ford! A guy driving one of those huge trucks stopped by this very map to check the are and gave our tired legs and our bikes a ride to the downtown!

A look from the inside of our tent

Home that we Built

Home that we Built

8 thoughts on “Jo’s Monday Walk – Big Bear Lake, California

  1. early enjoyed your take on the walk this week – and was hoping to see a photo of that rescue Ford – ha! but the photos were so great and what an adventure. Peace

    • yes, it was quite a refreshing adventure – getting lost in the woods, running out of water, being physically exhausted gave us a good stroke of adrenaline, something we hardly ever experience in our every day city home-work lives. Sorry, no pic of Ford. At that moment all I wanted was endless supply of cool drinking water 🙂

  2. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Santa Luzia | restlessjo

  3. Jo is hilarious 😀 Elena, when I was reading your post I thought another bike that could keep pace with Sue. I am impressed as I am not the type to put myself through physical exertion at all 🙂 Lovely, lovely photos!

    • Paula, Sue was on my mind when I was writing this post, too! Trust me – I have NEVER EVER EVER in my life liked/enjoyed/did any king of sports before my Love showed up 🙂 Honest. I am the most surprised person myself every single time I venture smth like that bike tour! And thnx – I love how the photos came out myself. I only wish they could breath real pine air, too!

  4. Sounds like you and Sue Slaught would get on like a house on fire (oops, maybe not, considering your blog name!) Elena. She and husband are keen bikers too and are off to Italy cycling tomorrow. Many thanks for your contribution. Now I really am exhausted! 🙂

    • 🙂 I thought of Sue, too. I’d be eating dust long behind that girl’s bike wheels! I am more of a walker, really. I can and enjoy walking for hours on end! But have to compromise – my Love would take anything but walking if he has a choice 🙂 Thank you for hosting! See you next Monday!

Leave a Reply

