Paul Simon “Graceland”, not Garfunkel

I know Paul Simon is quite a controversial performer. I have my own ideas both about “Simon and Garfunkel” and about “Graceland”. But I don’t feel like engaging into a discussion about it right now.

I have my favorite Simon and Garfunkel songs. WHO doesn’t?!? But then not long age an on-line course in World Music helped me discover Paul Simon’s album Graceland. It might have been quite well-known in the States, but certainly not in Ukraine where I grew up. It IS a controversial work, I must note. Was it a produce of CO-operation in the best and honest sense of the term? Or was it more of exploitation of the natives by Simon? Who is to judge? Ladysmith Black Mombazo, who sang and recorded songs with Simon for his African album,  became quite a hit and was touring successfully for years after “Graceland”. And we (myself and the likes of me) still listen to those songs and thus pay the tribute of respect and recognition to the creators.

Paul Simon – Diamonds on the soles of her shoes”

Paul Simon – The Boy In The Bubble:

5 thoughts on “Paul Simon “Graceland”, not Garfunkel

  1. I think Simon is about as close to a musical genius as modern music comes, Jouena. And I also think that his take on the African nexus was nothing more than an acknowledgement of the marvel of African music and a wish to join in with it.
    There are very few musos whose voices you can recognise in 2 words – sometimes just 1 !
    I remain a BIG fan.

Leave a Reply

